Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

On Sunday 9th December I performed my very first solo show at the Island Scratch Night. The night was organised as an informal performance/cabaret show for semi-professionals and non-professionals like me to take part.

It was a really exciting opportunity for me, as i’d never done a solo show before on the silks (or anything, for that matter) and I got to feature in a show with some really great acts, some of which were way above my level! Below are a selection of the photos, taken on the night by Joe Clarke. We were so lucky to have such a talented photographer documenting the night, as you’ll see below from the amazing photos!

15  This is Donna, who organised the event33

 Hamish Tjoeng on the corde lisse26

 Brenda Waite19  Ali Jones on Trapeze12

Jilly – she was one of the evening students too, and you would never have known!aerial silks  Me! Doing the ‘Catarin Wheel’ (as taught by Lyn Routledge)aerial silks  Me again!
SuperBob
SuperBob on the corde lisse – he too is an evening class student. He opened the night being the first act, and was so good!duo su Duo Su – acro and corde lisse

Hopefully there will be another event organised soon, and I can’t wait to take part again! I’m already thinking about how I can improve on my first performance, what I want to add and take away from the routine I did, and starting to thing about what song it would be best to do it on.

It was so exhilarating, something i’ve wanted to do for so long but never had the guts to. I’m all for doing many, many more of these!

* The Island is “a multi use arts facility and creation centre in the old police station in Bristol city centre. It hosts a wide variety of creative spaces from circus training, dance and rehearsal rooms, making spaces and artists studios to dark rooms, recording studios, a gallery and a suite of early 20th century police cells”. Go visit the site and take part! *

